storymain

Our Story

Nestled in the heart of Shelby, NC lies one of the area’s most historic country clubs. The Cleveland Country Club has been providing its members with a delightful, private club experience since 1927. With a unique blend of Southern hospitality and charm, professional business etiquette, and genuine familial warmth, Cleveland Country Club creates an unmatched social experience.

Cleveland Country Club Timeline/Facts

April 4, 1927 | Cleveland Country Club established. Shortly after, land was conveyed for the clubhouse, and irregular shaped lot running along Highway 20.

June 17, 1946 | The Club purchased land from the Cleveland Springs Company (later to be renamed Cleveland Realty Company) to “be used as the site of a 9 hole golf course”, now the back nine.

June 25, 1955 | The front nine and land where the original tennis courts were located was conveyed to CCC, making CCC the one and only private country club in Cleveland Country, offering 18 holes of golf and four red clay tennis courts.

1940 | Ladies Golf Association was established to grow and support play among females.

October 25, 1945 | Additional 100 feet of property along East Marion St was conveyed to the Club by E.Y. and Alice Webb. This would appear to be the land on which the Club’s existing Ballroom and West Foyer currently lie.

September 1946 | Back nine was purchased.

September 9, 1959 | Cleveland Realty Company conveyed property for the purpose of providing parking facilities, storage and building facilities for golf machinery and equipment and for firefighting equipment. This is currently land where golf course maintenance is located.

1960 | Swimming facility opened which included the pool and a locker room building which later received a second story to make space for the tennis professional’s office, pro shop, restrooms and lounge.

1970 | Tennis course #3 and #4 were converted to a granular all-weather surface and courts #5 and #6 were reconstructed to hard surfaces.

1980 | Men’s Golf Association was established for golf course improvement projects.

1986 | Golf cart paths were installed and greens rebuilt by architect John LaFoy.

2001-2002 | Club improvements such as: deck area enlargement, new golf lounge, pool/card room, locker rooms and pro shop.

Photo Gallery

Hosting an event? We have the perfect place!

requestinfo